Saint-Saens Champagne Concert


Our programme:

Ouverture de La Jeunesse d’Hercule
Concerto No. 2 for Violin & Strings in C Major
Ouverture de La Princess Juane
Symphony for Strings in A Major, from Op. 55

弦楽のための交響曲 イ長調 作品55より

Our featured composer (English follows)

カミーユ・サン サーンス (1855-1921)


ヴァイオリン協奏曲第2 ハ長調


弦楽のための交響曲 イ長調


Camille Saint-Saëns (1835-1921)
Introduced to the piano at age two, Saint-Saëns displayed incredible precocity and produced his first composition before he was three and a half. A multi-faceted intellectual, he was active throughout a long lifetime as a concert pianist and conductor, and the pre-eminent organist of Europe. He wrote musical criticism, served as president of the Société Nationale de Musique, travelled constantly and composed felicitously virtually until the time of his death at age 86. Saint-Saëns was one of the rare few musicians who became universally popular and substantially wealthy during his lifetime and as a result of his musical endeavours.

Ouverture de La Jeunesse d’Hercule
Saint-Saëns composed four tone poems, a formal innovation he introduced to France after the example of Liszt. The last and longest of the four, La Jeunesse d’Hercule (1877) portrays Hercules at the entrance to life seeing two roads open before him — one of pleasure, and one of virtue. Insensible to the seductions of nymphs and bacchantes, the youth chooses the path of struggle and combat.

Concerto No. 2 for Violin & Strings in C Major
Saint-Saën wrote three violin concertos, two violon-cello concertos and five piano concertos, and other concerted works. The C major violin concerto was composed in 1858, when the composer was 23. Two decades were to pass before its first performance, by which time a second violin concerto had been already been played and published, and numbered as the first.

Ouverture de La Princess Juane
Like many French artists of the time, Saint-Saëns was influenced by the Japonism movement then prevailing in Paris. His one-act opéra-comique La Princesse Jaune is the third opera he composed, and in 1872 the first to be staged. Kornélis, a student, is too obsessed with his portrait of a Japanese girl to notice his cousin Lena's affections for him. Transported in a dream to Japan and at first enthralled, he eventually realises his love for her.

Symphony for Strings in A Major, from Op. 55
Saint-Saëns was admitted to the Paris Conservatoire at the age of 13, where he specialised in piano and organ, soon winning the conservatoire’s top prize for organists. At the age of 15, even before beginning formal composition studies, he made his first essay at writing a symphony, a substantial of four movements in A major. This work, and a further symphony written three years later, were never included among Saint-Saëns’ three numbered symphonies.

Tokyo Sinfonia
A very different little orchestra, distinguished by rich sound, lively expression and friendly rapport with the audience, the Tokyo Sinfonia has won much praise for the imaginative programming and inviting presentation of its hugely enjoyable events. Lauded as “the most exciting orchestra in Japan,” the Tokyo Sinfonia embodies the warmth and immediacy of Maestro Robert Rÿker’s affectionate approach to music.
Wed Jun 13, 2018
7:00 PM - 9:30 PM JST
Add to Calendar
Single SOLD OUT ¥5,500
Group (two or more people) SOLD OUT ¥5,000
Four-event series subscription SOLD OUT ¥18,000
Student SOLD OUT ¥2,500
Venue Address
1 Chome-37-5 Tomigaya, Shibuya Japan
東京シンフォニア Tokyo Sinfonia